Ernest E. Moore Resident Prize for Basic Science Research

ERNEST E. MOORE, MD, FACS, MCCM, FACN, FACEP (HON), FRCS ED (HON) FRCST(HON), FRCSI(HON), FEBS EM SURG (HON)… first attended the WTA in 1977 and was the first member to sponsor surgical residents.

Dr. Moore was the Chief of Trauma at the Denver General Hospital for 36 years, Chief of Surgery for 28 years, and is a Distinguished Professor of Surgery at the University of Colorado. Under Dr. Moore’s leadership, Denver General became internationally recognized for innovative care of the injured patient, and its trauma research laboratory has been funded by the NIH for 35 consecutive years. In July 2018, the center was renamed the Ernest E Moore Shock Trauma Center at Denver Health.

Dr. Moore has served as president of ten academic societies, including the Society of University Surgeons, American Association for the Surgery of Trauma, International Association for the Trauma and Surgical Intensive Care, and the World Society of Emergency Surgery. His awards include the Robert Danis Prize from the Society of International Surgeons, Orazio Campione Prize from the World Society of Emergency Surgery, Philip Hench Award from the University of Pittsburgh, Florence Sabin Award from the University of Colorado, Medallion for Scientific Achievement from the American Surgical Association, and Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Society of University Surgeons, American Heart Association, American College of Critical Medicine, Shock Society, and International Association for Trauma and Surgical Intensive Care. He has honorary fellowships in the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, and the Royal College of Surgeons of Thailand.

Dr. Moore is co-editor of the textbook Trauma, in its 9th edition, Surgical Secrets in its 7th edition, and Trauma Induced Coagulopathy, in its 2nd edition; he has >2000 publications and has lectured extensively throughout the world. He is married to Sarah Van Duzer Moore, M.D., an internist at the University of Colorado Denver, and they have two sons: Hunter, a liver transplant surgeon at UCD and Peter a pulmonary/critical care intensivist at UCD. Dr. Moore’s additional interests include endurance sports, mountaineering, skiing, and wapiti pursuit. He lives by the principle to work hard you must play hard, with the understanding that family is the ultimate priority.

The Ernest E. Moore Resident Prize for Basic Science Research has been established to encourage residents to become surgical investigators. Abstracts eligible for this award are submitted to the Program Committee for resident prize status presentation at the annual meeting of the Western Trauma Association. A manuscript must be submitted to the Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery in advance of the meeting. The manuscript and presentation are judged with first and second-place cash prizes and recognition given at the annual WTA banquet.