Western Trauma Foundation

The Western Trauma Foundation is committed to improving trauma through research, education, sharing of clinical experiences, and the professional development of physicians of all specialties who are involved in the care of trauma patients. The Foundation exists to advance trauma knowledge and patient care and to educate and advance the most talented professionals in the field of trauma.


In 2002, the Western Trauma Association established the Western Trauma Foundation for Education and Research. This not-for-profit organization began with administering funds for the Earl G. Young Resident Research Prize and has grown to underwrite other named educational and research activities that support the mission.

The Western Trauma Foundation solicits and accepts contributions from individuals, corporations, and other organizations with our shared mission.

Donors to the Annual Fund are recognized in the following categories, based on life-long cumulative contributions: 

Contribution amount

Lifelong Contribution Level

$25,000 and up





Couloir Society


Double Black Diamond Club


Black Diamond Circle


Blue Trail Associate

Up to $499

Green Trail Associate

For information on tax-deductible donations to the Western Trauma Foundation, visit the:

Officers and Membership

David Livingston, MDPresident
Susan Rowell, MD, MBATreasurer
Laura Moore, MDSecretary
Thomas Scalea, MDBoard Member
Rosemary Kozar, MD, PhDBoard Member
Enrique Ginzburg, MDBoard Member
Brent King, MDBoard Member