Multicenter Trials Committee

Purpose: The multi-center trials group was formed in order to review and/or research areas of trauma care where large numbers of patients are needed to answer clinically relevant questions. Studies performed and published by this group have a very high citation index in the Journal of Trauma.

Chair: Carlos Brown, M.D.

Click here for the MCT Guidelines

Membership: Multicenter Trial Committee membership

Meetings: Semi-annual

Winter: Tuesday at 6:00 during Annual Meeting 
Fall: During AAST Meeting

Publications to Date: 43 publications.

Active Studies

1. The Role of HIV in Post-Injury Coagulation
(PI: Rachael Callcut, MD [racallcut@ucdavis.edu])

Project Summary
Data sheet
UCSF IRB Approval

2. Immunologic Response to Pneumococcal Polysaccharide Vaccine in Splenic Injury Patients
(PI: David V. Shatz, MD [dvshatz@ucdavis.edu])

Study Protocol
Data Collection Form
Study Flow Chart
Consent Form
UC-Davis IRB Approval

3. Trauma and mild TBI in a pediatric population: A pilot longitudinal descriptive study assessing post-concussive symptoms, functional and quality of life outcomes.
(PI: Susan Biffl, MD [susan@biffl.com])

Research Plan
Demographics Questionnaire
IRB Approval
Ready to Accrue Letter

Post-concussive Assement PEDSQL PEDSQL Parent Report
5-7 years old 5-7 years old 5-7 yearsld
8-12 years old 8-12 years old 8-12 years old
13-18 years old 13-18 years old 13-18 years old

 

4. Evaluation of Angioembolization for Liver Injuries with CT-Identified Blush.
(PI: Laura Harmon, MD [LAURA.A.HARMON@UCDENVER.EDU])

Protocol
Case Report Form
Data Collection Sheet

5. Thoracostomy Tube Irrigation for Retained Hemothorax
(PI: Thomas Carver, MD [tcarver@mcw.edu])

Study Proposal
Study Protocol
Data Sheet
Data Dictionary
Coordinating Site Protocol
IRB Application

6. Evaluation of the Effects of Anti-venom on Thromboelastography following North American Crotalid Snake Envenomation
(PI: Julie Dunn, MD [Julie.dunn@uchealth.org])

Study Protocol
Data Collection Sheet
IRB Protocol